Meet The Mamas

Allison

Hi, I’m Allison! I’m married to my best friend, Jared, and we have two little boys, Peter (3) and Luke (10 months. Or you could just say he’s 1, depending on when the blog actually gets going). We live in Provo, UT. We both earned our bachelors degrees from BYU, and now Jared is working on his masters. Next year we’ll be moving to who knows where for Jared’s PhD, which I’m super excited and nervous about. I love to take advantage of all the natural beauty here. I love hiking and doing pretty much anything outdoors. I grew up in Hawaii and spent most of my free time outside in the mountains or at the beach.
I also love cooking and baking, and like to try new ethnic foods like Indian curry and Vietnamese pho. Jared and I have been a little obsessed with the Great British Bake-off recently which has inspired me to bake even more than usual haha. This school year I’m working as a crossing guard at a nearby elementary school a few hours a week. I love being a stay-at-home mommy (most of the time, let’s be real).

Charlie

20689607_10159116832870481_5133865521326417440_o

My name is Charleah, but most people call me Charlie, mostly because they can’t pronounce Charleah. I’m a mother of 2 (Raelyn 4, Dakota 10 Months) and a wife of 1 (Steven 30). I love them….MOST of the time. My husband is amazing, but my kids can make me want to pull my hair out…true story. I love GiFs, sleep, running, basketball, crafting, movies, TV, baking, God and laughing, especially at people who fall on ice. I love having real conversations with real people.

 

Christina

Hi! I’m Christina. My husband and I met as kids and now we have two daughters of our own. I never could have imagined how difficult motherhood can be, nor how beautiful, and I’m excited to share my experience with all of you. I’m a military wife and young mother trying to navigate through the diapers, deployments, self haircuts, slobbery kisses, bad nights, belly laughs, and overwhelming happiness. I love to be outside working in the yard, swimming, reading, eating and spending time with my man and kiddos. 

Courtney

As a mother of two little tornadoes and a wife to a full-time grad student with a part-time job, I am treading through the fake it til you make it stage. Everyday I take on the world dressed in my mommy uniform (some may call them yoga pants), all charged up with a Diet Coke n’ Lemon. I enjoy a good debate over any subject…oooh but especially those hot button topics. **wink wink**. To me being a Real Mama means to know who you are, with a blinders-off perspective. Moving forward with that knowledge and making the most of the situation. In all reality, I am just learning to be a Real Mama, so here I am inviting you on this journey. Hopefully we can learn together, change together and become better together.

Emily

Hello dear Readers! I studied philosophy at UVU and completed my senior thesis on the Philosophy of Education. I love studying the pros and cons of different (non-traditional) methods of teaching and learning and enjoy experimenting with my 3 year old and 18 month old girls. My husband teaches high school choir and we are constantly attending concerts and performances of some kind or another. We love the arts, we love pink and purple and we love being together.

Martha

Martha majored in Family Science, and while she’s never had a paying job in the field, has used her degree nearly every day since graduation. Her hobbies (or sometimes obsessions) include reading, writing, sewing and embroidery, family history, and organizing. She home-schooled her three children until they decided to go to a “regular” high school. She currently lives in Utah and teaches young children at church.

Sam

18582640_827635034061006_1848536977019596126_nI’m a part-time English teacher, part-time stay-at-home-mom and full-time caffeine addict. My toddlers (2&3) are 16 months apart and are just a little wild. If there’s a cup, you can bet my kids are going to spill it; if there’s a marker, you can bet my kids are going to color all over the walls; if there’s a toilet, you can bet my kids are going to somehow cover the lid with poop. Luckily, my husband is a mental health therapist and keeps me sane amidst all the craziness. I’m sometimes a runner, sometimes a chocolate hoarder. I’m sometimes a DIY-er, sometimes a Netflix-binger. I’m sometimes a musician, sometimes a writer. My hope is that whatever version of myself you see each day is always the authentic, unfiltered, real me.

 

 

Shauna

2017-07-24 13.25.29I’m a lover of fantasy and sci-fi who is happily married to a nerd of science and technology. We have a four-year-old girl, Ariana; a two-year-old girl, Brielle; and a growing baby boy named Levi–all of whom are being subtly brainwashed to love fairies, dragons, and rockets.

I graduated from BYU with a B.A. in English, and my hubby works as a software developer. I dream of someday publishing YA fantasy and sci-fi. In the meantime, I stay at home with our little ones. They’re either whittling my sanity into some unrecognizable monster, or positively melting my heart in that way that only little ones can. I also like to sleep in, exercise, explore the outdoors, play video games, eat mint chocolate chip ice cream, and blast soundtrack music. It’s good for my soul when I can be real with people about the joys and struggles of life.